Alverde Toothpaste 5 in 1

5 in 1! This sounds like a heck of a product, doesn’t it?

The five effects that this toothpaste supposedly offers, are: protection against cavities, freshening the breath, removing plaque, preventing Paradontosis and healing the gums. This toothpaste looks and smells just like a  normal one, that you can find in supermarkets but it has more natural ingredients among which Mint Oil, Chamomilla and Calendula Extract.

Of course the effects are difficultly evaluated and one can not tell after a month of usage (like I did) if it performs well in all these areas. However, there are things that I can be sure of: for one, it really gives freshness to the breath and the effect is nice, probably due to the mint extract it contains. Unfortunately the effect doesn’t last more than 10 minutes.

It also produces a delicate foam, not like your average toothpaste, a bit less. I do not have gums or Paradontosis problems, so I really can not speak for that, but I didn’t notice any removal of the plaque. 🙂

Apart from that this toothpaste is kind of neutral to me,  but there certainly are aspects that I dislike: it contains Fluoride and this is a very controversial ingredient, being suspected of being really toxic to the human body.

Furthermore, the price is pretty high, around 2,5 euros while normal toothpaste costs around 1,5 euros for a double quantity.

I am a bit undecided about this product, I acknowledge that it’s healthier (it also holds the Vegan and Nature.org certifications) and offers a fresh breath, but it’s expensive and doesn’t strike me so much in usage or afterwards…

I guess it’s up to you if you try it, I salute Alverde’s initiative anyway, for going towards other areas of personal hygiene too!

Leave a Reply

